Legislative Goals

CTPlaces Coalition — Legislative Goals
For the 2017 session of the Connecticut General Assembly

    • Restore funding to Connecticut Humanities, allowing for reactivation of a re-grant pool that serves hundreds of organizations and to ensure federal matching funds remain intact


    • Support the Governor’s proposal to increase the land recording for the historic documents preservation fund


    • Support HB 7188, An Act Concerning the Preservation of Historical Records and Access to Restricted Records in the State Archives.


    • Oppose the elimination of funding for the borrowIT CT (formerly Connecticard) program to maintain the ability to borrow material from any library in Connecticut using your local library card and to ensure that federal matching library funds are not lost.


    • Support the Governor’s proposed $10 million in bonding for public library construction grants.


    • Restore Connecticut State Library funding for Cooperating Library Service Units (CLC)


    • Preserve Connecticut State Historic Preservation funding to ensure federal matching funds remain intact


    • Support SB-819 to increase the annual allocation of State Historic Preservation Tax Credits


    • Protect the Community Investment Act from funding sweeps or diversions


    • Earmark operating support to allow continued public access to Connecticut’s Old State House (as of July 1, 2017)


    • Oppose local taxation of nonprofits, and nonprofit gift shop sales


    • Oppose legislation limiting the transfer of antique ivory artifacts as it may negatively affect museums


Visit CTPlaces.org for more information
#CTPlaces – Cooperating Organizations
Connecticut Humanities
Connecticut State Library
Connecticut Historical Society
Connecticut Library Consortium
Connecticut League of History Organizations
Connecticut Library Association
Connecticut Trust for Historic Preservation
Connecticut Preservation Action
Connecticut Coordinating Committee for the Promotion of History
Connecticut Explored

March 13 GA&E Committee Hearing–How to Submit Your Testimony

Regarding Government Administration and Elections Committee public hearing on Monday, March 13, 2017 at 10:00 A.M. in Room 2A of the LOB.

  • Sign-up for the hearing will begin at 8:00 A.M. in Room 2A of the LOB.
  • Please submit 30 copies of written testimony to the Committee staff from 8 A.M. to 9:30 A.M. in Room 2A of the LOB. Testimony received after the designated time may not be distributed until after the hearing.
  • Please email written testimony in Word or PDF format to GAEtestimony@cga.ct.gov.
  • Testimony should clearly state testifier name and related Bills and/or Resolutions. The Committee requests that testimony be limited to matters related to the items on the Agenda.
  • The first hour of the hearing is reserved for Legislators, Constitutional Officers, State Agency Heads and Chief Elected Municipal Officials.
  • Speakers will be limited to three minutes of testimony.
  • The Committee encourages witnesses to submit a written statement and to condense oral testimony to a summary of that statement.
  • Unofficial sign-up sheets have no standing with the Committee. All public hearing testimony, written and spoken, is public information. As such, it will be made available on the CGA website and indexed by internet search engines.


Legislative Testimony – 2017

The following testimonies were presented to the Appropriates Committee on February 17, 2017:

Angela George, Colchester Historical Society

Betty Ann Reiter, Groton Public Library

Bill Hosley, Terra Firma

Bina Williams, Bridgeport Library

Bob Burns, Mattatuck Museum

Bro Adams, National Endowment for the Humanities

Carole Goldberg, Center for the Book

Cathy Fields, Litchfield Historical Society

Dan Bolognani, Housatonic Heritage

David Westmoreland, Norwalk Historical Commission

Elizabeth Norman, CT Explored Magazine

Elizabeth Norman, CT Places Coalition

Esther Mackintosh, Federation of State Humanities Councils

Frank Mitchell, Connecticut Humanities

Gigi Liverant, Colchester Historical Society

Jamie Eves, Windham

Jeff Andersen, Florence Griswold Museum

John Dichtl, AASLH

Julie Hulten, North Haven Historical Society

Julie Menders, Otis Library

Kat Lyons, Center for the Book

Laura Krenicki, Teach It

Liz Shapiro, CLHO

Mara Balk, JCC

Mike Jehle, Fairfield Museum

Raechel Guest, Silas Bronson Library

Rennie McQuilkin, CT Poet Laureate

Robert Forbes, Jewish Historical Society of New Haven

Rose Evans, Columbus Family Academy

Susan Smayda, Southington Library

Susy Gilgore, Lockwood Mathews Mansion Museum

Wendy Bury, Southeastern CT Cultural Coalition